CRESCENS (Pierre de). In commodorum ruralium... - Lot 41 - Paris Enchères - Collin du Bocage

Lot 41
Go to lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
CRESCENS (Pierre de). In commodorum ruralium... - Lot 41 - Paris Enchères - Collin du Bocage
CRESCENS (Pierre de). In commodorum ruralium cum figuris libri duodecim. [Speyer, Peter Drach, ca. 1490-1495]. In-folio, old half-basin, spine ribbed, old chamois leather boards, traces of laces, renewed endpapers; modern brown half-maroquin slipcase by Devauchelle.
cliii ff, (1) blank f., (4) ff. n. ch. (registrum); gothic type, 2 col. 53 l.
The most beautiful illustrated incunabula edition of De re agricultura.
The first treatise on agronomy of the Middle Ages, it was composed around 1300 by the Bolognese Pietro de Crescenzi (1230-1316), the father of agronomic science in Italy. Having studied natural sciences, philosophy, medicine and law, Peter of Crescenzi left Bologna and travelled throughout Italy for thirty years to work as a forensic scientist in the provincial towns and to study the various methods of agriculture. He drew on the writings of ancient agronomists (Cato, Varro, Palladius, Columella) and added his own precise observations to compose this innovative work.
The original edition appeared in 1471 in Augsburg in Latin (Liber ruralium Comodorum), dedicated to Charles II, King of Sicily. The work was soon translated into Italian (Florence, 1478), and into German (1493). This work remained for more than two centuries a reference treaty.
Divided into 12 books, it deals with agriculture, horticulture, vine and wine (book IV), fruit trees, herbs and their medicinal virtues, horses and cattle, etc...
Charles V had a French translation made in 1373 of book IV devoted to wine, and the first French edition of this same book appeared in 1486 under the title Livre des proufitz champestres et ruraulx, decorated with a few woodcuts (which became Le Bon Menaisger in 1533).
This Latin edition was printed by Peter Drach in Speyer, Germany. Bibliographers give various dates between 1490 and 1495.
It includes the most abundant illustration made for this work, and is decorated with 313 woodcuts (some repeated) representing plants (cereals, trees, herbs, flowers), viticulture (vine care, making hoods, grape harvest, crushing grapes, putting into barrels, decanting, tasting... - IV), agricultural activities (plowing, haying, sowing, planting, tree pruning, stonecutters, carpenters, irrigation), animal care (horses, poultry, cattle, grazing, beekeeping - IX), fishing and hunting (falcon, crossbow, deer, wolf... - book X): most pages have 1 to 4 antlers. "It is one of the most interesting of the old German books as far as woodcuts are concerned" (Simon).
This precious edition thus offers a first-rate iconography of the agricultural world in the 14th century.
Title page soiled, with handwritten notes. Some leaves slightly shorter. F°ix reenlarged. Notebook N (f° lxxv to lxxx) placed after f° xxxii. Marginal annotations and old bookplates. Stains and stains. Some marginal losses due to paper defects. First counterpart lined with an old score. Binding stained, small worm holes.
Spine of the case slightly faded.
Simon, Bach. I, 36 (and pl. IV to XVIII) - Menessier de La Lance, I, 328 - Nissen 421 - Pritzel 1966 - Schreiber V, 3788 - Proctor 1441 - Thiébaud, 220: "One of the most beautiful illustrated German books of this period". - Hain 5826.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

CRESCENS (Pierre de). In commodorum ruralium... - Lot 41 - Paris Enchères - Collin du Bocage

Lot 41
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
S'inscrire sur drouot.com
CRESCENS (Pierre de). In commodorum ruralium... - Lot 41 - Paris Enchères - Collin du Bocage
CRESCENS (Pierre de). In commodorum ruralium cum figuris libri duodecim. [Spire, Peter Drach, vers 1490-1495]. In-folio, demi-basane ancienne, dos à nerfs, plats anciens de peau de chamois, traces de lacets, gardes renouvelées ; emboîtage moderne en demi-maroquin brun de Devauchelle.
cliii ff, (1) f. blanc, (4) ff. n. ch. (registrum) ; caractères gothiques, 2 col. 53 l.
La plus belle édition incunable illustrée du De re agricultura.
Premier traité d'agronomie du Moyen-Age, il fut composé vers 1300 par le bolonais Pietro de Crescenzi (1230-1316), père de la science agronomique en Italie. Ayant étudié les sciences naturelles, la philosophie, la médecine et le droit, Pierre de Crescens quitta Bologne et parcourut l'Italie pendant trente ans pour exercer la fonction de légiste dans les villes de province, et étudier les diverses méthodes d'agriculture. Il puisa dans les écrits des agronomes anciens (Caton, Varron, Palladius, Columelle) et ajouta ses observations précises pour composer cet ouvrage novateur.
L'édition originale parut en 1471 à Augsburg en latin (Liber ruralium Comodorum), dédiée à Charles II, roi de Sicile. Puis l'ouvrage fut très vite traduit en italien (Florence, 1478), et en allemand (1493). Cet ouvrage resta pendant plus de deux siècles un traité de référence.
Divisé en 12 livres, il aborde l'agriculture, l'horticulture, la vigne et le vin (livre IV), les arbres fruitiers, les herbes et leurs vertus médicinales, les chevaux et le bétail, etc...
Charles V ayant fait faire une traduction en français en 1373 du livre IV consacré au vin, la première édition en français de ce même livre parut en 1486 sous le titre Livre des proufitz champestres et ruraulx, ornée de quelques bois gravés (devenu en 1533 Le Bon Menaisger).
Cette édition latine fut imprimée par Peter Drach à Spire, en Allemagne. Les bibliographes donnent diverses dates entre 1490 et 1495.
Comprenant la plus abondante illustration faite pour cet ouvrage, elle est ornée de 313 bois (certains répétés) représentant des plantes (céréales, arbres, herbes, fleurs), la viticulture (soins à la vigne, fabrication des hottes, vendanges, foulage du raisin, mise en tonneaux, transvasement, dégustation... - IV), les activités agricoles (labours, foins, semailles, plantations, taille des arbres, tailleurs de pierre, charpentiers, irrigation), les soins aux animaux (chevaux, volailles, bovins, pâture, apiculture - IX), la pêche et la chasse (au faucon, à l'arbalète, au cerf, au loup... - livre X) : la plupart des pages comportent 1 à 4 bois. "C'est l'un des plus intéressants des anciens livres allemands quant aux gravures sur bois" (Simon).
Cette précieuse édition offre donc une iconographie de tout premier ordre du monde agricole au XIVe siècle.
F. de titre sali, avec mentions manuscrites. Quelques feuillets lég. plus courts. F°ix réenmargé. Cahier N (f° lxxv à lxxx) placé après f° xxxii. Annotations marginales et ex-libris anciens. Mouillures et taches. Quelques manques marginaux dûs aux défauts du papier. Premier contreplat doublé d'une partition ancienne. Reliure tachée, petits trous de vers.
Dos de l'étui lég. passé.
Simon, Bach. I, 36 (et pl. IV à XVIII) - Menessier de La Lance, I, 328 - Nissen 421 - Pritzel 1966 - Schreiber V, 3788 - Proctor 1441 - Thiébaud, 220 : "Un de plus beaux livres allemands illustrés de cette époque". - Hain 5826.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue